Call: (08) 8625 3340

Nuclear Fuel Cycle Engagement – In Our Region

South Australia is about to undertake the state’s largest engagement program and we would like you
and your community to get involved.

As you may know, the State Government recently received the Nuclear Fuel Cycle Royal Commission
Report. It identified that South Australia can safely increase its participation in the nuclear fuel cycle,
including pursuing the opportunity to establish a nuclear waste facility to store and dispose of waste
from overseas countries that use nuclear power (referred to as high and intermediate level waste).
A Citizens’ Jury was held earlier this month, delivering a summary of key themes the jury believe their
fellow South Australians should discuss and explore in more detail. These are safety, consent, trust
and the economics of pursuing such a facility. Their report now sets the agenda for conversations that
will soon be taking place across the state.

The State Government’s Consultation and Response Agency (CARA) is leading the state-wide
consultation program, with more than 100 sites being visited to ensure all South Australians can have
their say. It is important to note that our work is independent of the Federal Government’s National
Radioactive Waste Management project and the current search for a host community (such as the
nominated site near Barndioota in the Flinders Ranges). The Royal Commission’s report did not
identify any specific site for a high level waste facility in South Australia.
Over the next few months CARA will visit all major Aboriginal communities and regional centres to
hold informal, face-to-face meetings to discuss the report’s findings. The sessions will provide an
opportunity for you to talk to CARA staff, ask questions and submit your comments on the Royal
Commission findings. All of this information will be used to provide feedback into the Government’s
decision making process later this year.

A list of all the locations included in the program.

1/08/16      Murray Bridge  – Murray Bridge Aboriginal Community
2/08/16     Raukkan –  Raukkan Aboriginal Community
5/08/16     Mt Gambier – Mt Gambier Aboriginal Community
8/08/16     Port Pirie – Port Pirie Aboriginl Community Centre
9/08/16     Davenport – Davenport Aboriginal Community
10/08/16   Port Augusta – Port Augusta Aboriginal Community
11/08/16   Nepabunna – Nepabunna Aboriginal Community
16/08/16   Maree – Maree Town Hall
17/08/16   Oodnadatta – Oodnadatta Community Hall
18/08/16   Ummona – Ummona Aboriginal Community
23/08/16   Yalata – Yalata Aboriginal Community
24/08/16   Oak Valley – Oak Valley Aboriginal Community
29/08/16   Port Lincoln – Port Lincoln Aboriginal Community
30/08/16   Koonibba – Community area
6/09/16     Iwantja – Community area
7/09/16     Umuwa – Community area
8/09/16     Fregon – Community area
9/09/16     Mimili – Community area
12/09/16   Pipalyatjara – Community area
13/09/16   Kanpi – Community area
14/09/16   Amata – Community area
15/09/16   Pukatja – Community area
5/10/16     Ceduna – Ceduna Aboriginal Community
6/10/16     Barmera – Soldiers Memorial Hall
10/10/16   Northern Adelaide – Central Districts Football Club – the Lounge
11/10/16    Adelaide – State Library of SA
12/10/16   Point Pearce – Point Pearce Aboriginal Community
13/10/16   Gerard – Gerard Aboriginal Community Centre

If you are unable to attend a session, please have your say online at where you

can also find more information including the Royal Commission and Jury reports or contact us at:

• Email:
• Freecall: 1800 842 563
• Facebook:
If you have any questions, please contact Jason Downs, Leader for Engagement on 0428 830 473 or email
Yours sincerely
Madeline Richardson
Westpac House
91 King William St
Adelaide SA 5000
GPO Box 2343
Adelaide SA 5001
Tel 1800 842 563
ABN: 32 708 374 782

About the author

Leave a Reply